Cindy’s family established the Cynthia Lynn Sherwin Chair of Research through the auspices of the Brain Aneurysm Foundation to honor Cindy’s life. Since inception, we’ve distributed more than $500,000 in research grants. These grants specifically fund scientific research directed at the early detection and prevention of brain aneurysms.

Each Chair of Research provides funding for one grant recipient for one year. Grant awards are presented at the Brain Aneurysm Foundation’s Annual Research Grant Awards Symposium during the month of September. Each year, the Research Grant Committee, a team of world-renowned neurosurgeons from The Brain Aneurysm Foundation’s Medical Advisory Board, carefully reviews all the research grant requests from neuroscience leaders and determines which projects merit funding.

The Brain Aneurysm Foundation has become the world’s leading source of private funding of brain aneurysm research. When possible, the research grant awards are presented by the grant donor. Researchers are honored to receive a Chair of Research and they are inspired by the personal stories behind each Chair.

A second Chair of Research was established in 2015 to recognize the fundraising efforts of the Escape from Alcatraz team led by Mr. Kevin Brennan. The grant is the TeamCindy-Escape from Alcatraz Chair of Research.


Mark D. Johnson, MD

University of Cincinnati, Ohio
Cynthia Lynn Sherwin Chair of Research: $30,000
Awarded for: Morphological Analysis Through the Use of Fractal Dimension as a Predictor of Cerebral Aneurysm Behavior


John Thompson, PhD

University of Miami, Florida
Cynthia Lynn Sherwin Chair of Research: $30,000
Awarded for: Surface Modification of Flow Diverting Stents for Improved Cerebral Aneurysm Repair